Primitivo


Ah, primitivo. Puglia’s light hearted friend. Especially in the area of Manduria. This wine is great for this time of year. Last night I had a primitivo di Manduria from The producer Koine. It was a 2004. This was a beautiful wine that was easily approachable with a nice mellow nose. The palate was medium bodied and very well balanced between the acidity and the tannins. It seemed that the mild acidity was actually holding everything together in a calm harmony. The palate was also pleasantly jammy and earthy with soft tannins and a subtle spice that bounced ethereally around in my mouth as it inter-mingled with my meal. My meal by the way was grilled rack of lamb in a light rosemary/red wine sauce with roasted potatoes and sauteed broccoli rabe (with a hint of garlic). This was the perfect match. The primitivo washed the meal down superbly. After my meal I continued to drink the bottle and noticed that the fruit became more pronounced and even though there acidity was still keeping everything tact the wine actually mellowed even more. This was a pleasant surprise and a great way to end a meal. Primitivo (the wine) comes from the region of puglia in southern Italy. It is said to be a long distant relative to zinfandel. The interesting thing about this is that primitivo is known more for its medium bodied characteristics but it can yield a very full bodied wine that might as well be zin. I personally love it in the true primitivo form. If I want a zin I will go get one. Also I believe (and I could be wrong) that primitivo (at least this one) goes-went-through something called carbonic maceration in which the juice ferments inside the grape skins. This wine does have the alcohol content of its relative. This smooth fruit forward beauty tops out at 14%. Mild spring night. Nice lamb dinner. Some Coltrane (“Love Supreme” in particular) in the background. Good conversation. This tops it off for me. Signing off for now. If any one happens upon this page and tries this one out let me know.

Leave a Reply

