Home made pasta and a Finger Lakes Cab


Last night I got out the Kitchen aide mixer and the pasta maker attachment and went at it. What a great way to make gourmet on the cheap. Yes these mixers are expensive but once you have one everything becomes a chinch. It’s a great way to have budget meals that taste great. Some flour, some eggs and cheap canned tomatoes and some garlic and parm and your good. I made homemade fresh fettuccine and homemade focaccia for my wife and I. I made a cheap version of puntanesca sauce and we eating like the good life under $20.
The wine was From the Finger Lakes region of New York State. This area is hit or miss with wine but if your patient you can find some gems. My wife and I spent our one-year anniversary in April on Lake Seneca and hit some wineries while we were there. Some of them were closed until May but the ones we went to were mediocre save a couple. The one that really impressed us was Damiani Cellars. Down a dirt road to a gravel driveway and into a garage of a residence all the way in the back and there is the tasting room. Small time and lovely. Lou Damiani and Phil Davis are very passionate about wine. So much that they almost do it in their spare time. I put a link to an article about them in the title of this post. We had a great time talking with Phil and his wife and eventually did a barrel tasting of the upcoming vintage chardonnay. It’s going to be great. The reds are really good. The pinot reserve has good acidity and earthiness and the meritage holds up well with decent structure and flavor.
So we bought those and a 100% Cab. I opened the cab last night with the pasta. I kind of sipped it as I was making everything and experienced something interesting. Upon first tasting it there was a rush of salinity. This took me aback. Salinity is not what usually hits you first if at all with cabs. After a bit the tannins started saying hello and the salinity mellowed out a bit but let me know it was there. By the time I was drying the pasta and working on the sauce the fruit of the wine came out and with the good acidity held everything in place. I was impressed with this wine and it held up well with the food. When we were there hanging out with Phil, his wife and their dogs he said he had sent some samples to NYC and was waiting for a response. Damiani is a very small production producer and they are worried that they won’t be able to keep up with demand. But hey, if they just keep doing what they are doing high demand will only make the small yields that much more desirable. By the way while we tasted I saw in the corner next to the register a bottle of primitivo. Italian influence?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anali on May 28, 2006 at 4:42 am

    The dinner sounds delicious! I like your blog. It’s set up well and original. Keep up the good work!

    Reply

  2. Posted by EVWG on May 28, 2006 at 6:48 am

    Thank you for stopping by! I appreciate the time and the feed back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

