Foppiano Part II


I thought I would add a little something today. If anyone read my 4th of July post they will remember (or not) a wine that was thoroughly enjoyed. It was the Foppiano 2004 Pinot Noir and it gave me hope for the pinots of Cali. I have since had a couple more that were great, especially a Merry Edwards from the Russian River Valley. I had it with my wife on Hilton Head Island in South Carolina at this amazing restaurant, which is another post all together.
Well, last night our good friends had us over to check another bottle august had picked up at Foppiano when visiting Cali, the 2002 Zin. We had just had dinner and went back to Lauren’s apartment to check this sucker out. We popped it and sat around talking about everything except wine. Lauren has some great wine glasses that allow you to really get a feel for what you are drinking.
As we were talking and drinking I kept wanting the Zin to open up some. It was giving me alcohol and ripe fruit on the nose with none of that welcome spice and thickness. It wasn’t bad it was just different from what I was used to. I haven’t had too many zins but the ones I had were a bit tougher on tannin and structure. I have had a good amount of primitivo which is very similar to zin (some people actually think it is zin or a clone of it) and primitivo generally tends to be a bit lighter than Cali Zin but this one was almost on par with a medium bodied primitivo. Also I thought in the end that it was lacking the acidity needed to bring the body into balance. As these thoughts were going through my head August mentioned to me his thoughts on the wine that thankfully reflected mine. He said he much more enjoyed the pinot from them.
In the literature that August gave me about the vineyard it says they have been around since the 1800’s and their flagship wine is petit sirah. This would make sense as the zin vines may be a bit too young and are more susceptible to varying weather conditions, affecting the ripening process of the grapes, which add to the body and flavor of a wine. The pinot was great and whether they are young or old vines of all the varietals out there pinot reflects the soil in which it was grown more than the majority of the grapes out there (tempranillo is another). So it seems that 2004 was a better year for the “terrior” of Foppiano. I would like to try a 04 Zin and compare but with these Cali wines costing an arm and a leg it’s hard to justify the risk. But then again what’s life without a little risk. When I find one I will be calling on August and Lauren event.
What was more important than the wine was the company. I am posting these tasting notes from recesses of my memory. I was not hanging out with my pad and pen. My wife and I were just kicking back on a Saturday night with good friends and enjoying each other’s company. I am a wine geek and it’s hard for me to not analyze wine but when it comes down to it wine was being made long before tasting notes came around so was the communal aspect of wine. In the end this is my favorite part. Thank You August for bringing back wines to share from your jaunt to the Russian River Valley. The next one is on me.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on September 20, 2006 at 2:15 pm

    you want to try CA Zin i’d stick with Amador and El Dorado Co wines.

    infinitely better than Sonoma Zin – Glenn

    Reply

  2. Posted by EVWG on September 20, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    Thanks Glenn. I will be checking those out soon. Nothing better than a little inside advice.

    evwg

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2006 at 2:25 pm

    here is what i consider a most elegant Zin. not as spicy or overpowering as many examples. has background fruit and sweetness.

    http://www.cgdiarie.com/

    i almost hate to tell folks about this wine as it’s hard to get sometimes. tell the NYC folks some story about how you obtained some!

    try any years “Southern Exposure” and i think you’ll be pleased.

    take care – Glenn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

