A Brief Rant on The Excitement of Autumn


Man, it is amazing outside today. I can feel it. Autumn is upon us and I can dig it. I love this time of year in NYC. Seasonal menus start a changin’ and red wine really starts a flowin’. It is the perfect time of year to have some of those big reds that have been hard to look at in the heat wave of 2006. Comfort food and strong cheese, butternut squash, pumpkins, pumpkin seeds, cream sauces, butter and sage, hearty Italian fare. Oh yeah, this is great. I love me some seasonal change. I can’t wait to go to the farmer’s market and check out all the new produce coming from the Hudson Valley and the Finger Lakes region. All that warm, fresh bread and ripe squash. I also can’t wait to really start exploring those biggins in my “Cellar” and pairing them fall dishes. Okay…wait a second…I need to slow down a bit here. I am still deep into my Trader Joe’s experiment. Sure it’s almost done, but I need to batten down the ADD and stay focused. I also have an interesting wine to talk about but I will save that one for tomorrow. I need to take a picture of it and put on the post just to prove it exists. All I will say is it is served in aluminum can (freaky? Si Buay). Anyway, I just wanted to drop a post about how exciting it is to be in the greatest city in the country ready for a fun Autumn. Oh the wine to be drunk and talked about.

2 responses to this post.

  1. oh man, I feel you. I got that fluttery feeling in my chest when I walked through the greenmarket on Weds. It was virtiginous, all the colors, the bounty, the smells! I don’t think today’s going to be quite so awesome, but maybe the rain will keep the toursists away! Yay Autumn!

    Reply

  2. Posted by EVWG on September 23, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    It is an amazing and dizzying experience. I love the fact that we live in a city and have access to such natural food.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

