Happy 2007!!!!!!


Happy New Year!!! Wow. It has been too long. I have been on a bit of a hiatus for the holiday season. Got a little too busy and lost all sense of time. It was definitely a whirlwind of holiday cheer and I gotta say I had a lot of fun. We ate sumptuous food and drank special wines. We ran around Manhattan buying gifts and rewarding ourselves with a nice dinner here and there. We traveled to the south to visit family, made homemade pasta and also enjoyed the ease of a catered meal. I visited local wine shops and found good juice that I am currently looking for here in NYC. We had a twenty-five dollar amarone that was really on par with its more expensive namesakes. We took a tour of a cellar in a restaurant tucked away in some southern wildlife preserve. We ate at a Thai restaurant that rivals some of the best Thai we have had here in the city as well as a nice Riesling to boot. We gave and received and relaxed and played. JFK was crazy and flights were canceled and over booked. Somehow during the storm of travel my wife and I obtained complimentary tickets to anywhere in the continental U.S. and have already planned our trip to California wine country.
But man was it nice coming back to the one, the only, New York City. I hope all of your New Year’s Eve plans worked out accordingly and I hope that you had at least some decent sparkling bubbly whether it be champagne, American sparkling, cava, prosecco, or the infamous Asti. My wife and I started the evening with dinner at Azul on the corner of Suffolk and Stanton with our friends August and Lauren. I had been wanting to go to this place for a long time and just never got around to it. What an amazing place. The steak is prepared wonderfully and when you ask for a certain temperature you get it. August and I had the sirloin grilled to perfection with just the right amount of rosemary, sliced and served on a sizzling skillet with a side of fresh cut fries and some of the best homemade chimichurri I have had yet in the city. My wife and Lauren both had the skirt steak cooked medium rare. I honestly can’t remember what was served with it because of my almost total concentration on the dish in front of me. I did ,however, manage to get a bite of the skirt and the quality of the beef was apparent immediately. Excellent steak. My sirloin was a little too good. I couldn’t help but pause after every bite and savor the experience before sipping the really nice wine that we chose. The wine was a blend form Argentina. I wish I could remember all the information that I love to give out before I talk about a wine but I was not in wine geek mode that night. The geek was there but just chillin in the background letting the rest of my brain enjoy the night without thinking to hard on the wine. I mean I thought about the wine after every sip and enjoyed it opening up and seamlessly pairing with the food but the urge to break out a pen and paper and take the fun notes never crept up. I just enjoyed the experience and that is what wine and friends are all about.
Speaking of wine and friends that is how this New Year’s ended up for my wife and I. At midnight we were surrounded by some of our closest friends drinking prosecco and sounding the noisemakers. We all hugged and I kissed my wife at midnight. We even celebrated a New Year’s Eve birthday. Happy Birthday Angus!!!! I have some pretty cool pics yo. Anyway, I just wanted to reconnect with everyone and rant and ramble for a bit on what this blog is all about: wine, food and life. I love writing this blog. I also love that you guys actually take the time to read what I have to say and for that I thank you. I plan on keeping this thing going throughout 2007 and in the process we can explore more wines together. When I write about a wine I am not an expert on that particular bottle. I am experiencing it for the first time, taking it all in and researching it. I am learning with you and that for me is one of the most exciting parts of this blog thing. Please keep coming back to see me. And thank you again for all of your support. Happy 2007!!!!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by victoria on January 4, 2007 at 3:17 am

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! You have just had a really busy Christmas and New Years it sounds like. Good to hear that you are enjoying friends, food and wine the way it’s supposed to be enjoyed… Cheers to a great 2007 to come!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    Glad to hear you had a great
    holiday with friends and
    family. Looking forward to your
    blog in 2007 so we can experience
    some different wines. Good luck
    in 2007

    Reply

Leave a Reply

