Work In Progress…

At my job I hear a lot of talk about merlot versus pinot noir. Pinot is taking front stage at the moment and merlot is hanging out not just behind the burgundy native but off stage…stage left actually. And that is okay by me. As the pinot noir craze shapes up and establishes itself those merlot-lovin’ producers out there are hopefully working some magic in the gargantuan shadow Sideways has cast over the, “little blackbird” of Bordeaux. I have a theory that I am researching right now and I would like to share it with you. I just need a little more time to solidify my confidence in such an undertaking. I feel this need to start really tasting merlot. Where is merlot at right now? Where is this varietal in the minds of wine world? I will be back soon with an idea that I would love some feedback on. Talk to you soon. Cheers.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by michael ann on July 19, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    Hi, I met you at the restaurant in the Spring and I’d like to follow up on your comment about Merlot. I think it’s just a matter of again, educating people about Merlot. Pinot Noir has been popular for a few years now, and probably growing. I think Pinot Noir has a lot to offer in it’s versatility; one day you may drink a very subtle Pinot, the next, much heavier and more interesting that you ever expected. Merlot to me is more one dimensional. I don’t mean that by its make up, but by what we expect in a Merlot. I just find the Pinot more interesting all around.
    If you would like to follow up with me, I’d like to talk to you more about bloging for my site. I am also interested in learning more about your research.
    Ciao!

    Reply

  2. Posted by EVWG on July 20, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    Thanks for the comment Michael Ann. I feel the same way about pinot noir. It has sooooo much to offer. It is one of those grapes that is picky. It has a fragile structure as a grape and is more sensitive to climate than most other varietals.And if one can tune into that and harness the that fickle nature then we get to drink a greta pinoit. Merlot in the states has definitely become one dimensional and this is where my little theory comes in. I am going to post my theory next week and hope to spark some conversation about it. I just think it is so fascinating how trends can change with the American palate. I think it’s great because we are branching out as a culture and trying different wines. Thanks for reading and hopefully we can continue this discussion with more people next week.

    EvWg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

