I Am Still Here. I Swear


I am here I promise. I have not fallen of the face of the earth although with what is going on sometimes I feel as if I have. This blog is what connects me to what it’s all about. As myself and my two business partners (fellow workers and wine geeks) go further into these two business ventures and get busy on a level that is beyond wine geekiness I have to focus more and more on what I write. No one can be at too many places at the same time but one can try and prioritize those couple of places and tailor them to their own sanity. One of those priorities is this blog. I love doing this. Writing about wine is a great release. It brings me closer to what I am doing and helps me learn more just by writing it down. These posts are my tasting notes but there are experiences in them too. In them are the people that support my geekiness and embrace wine as much as I do. My business ventures are directly related to my love for wine. I have tried plenty of fields of work and this industry has taken me in and shown me so much love that I am proud to say there just ain’t no going back.
I have alluded to what I have been doing in past posts trying not to give away too much info because of the infancy of the processes. Now it seems we are on the eve of one of the ventures and I just wanted to put it out there. Myself and two other wine geeks are taking over the wine bar that we have been working at. I have been there for almost four years now working from waiter to wine director and manager and at some point months ago the owner comes to me and says he is selling the place. He has a family and needs to scale back a bit so before he put it on the market he offered it to me. I was honored to say the least but had no money. Actually, the two guys I work with at In Vino and myself were already getting our business in order to open a wine shop in an empty space next door to the wine bar so we had money tied up in that.
But of course we started wondering how cool it would be if we could have both. A wine bar and a wine shop next door. If you couldn’t have it in the same place why not next-door. An opportunity came around and we jumped on it. We found some interested parties and got some funds figured out and went for it. This was all almost five months ago. Since we made these decisions our lives have completely changed. Not only our lives but also the day-to-day has as well. We lost the space next to the wine bar due to a school being located too close. A wine shop in New York cannot be located less than two hundred feet from a church or school. But weirdly enough it can be right around the corner on a different street or avenue and less than two hundred feet…bizarre but…reality. We were determined to do this so the day we found this out we ran around the entire East Village and found a couple more spaces and settled on the perfect spot smack dab in the middle of Alphabet City.
As it looks now we will be proud owners of a wine bar I have loved and contributed to for almost four years in about a week. We are still waiting for a court date with the SLA (State Liquor Authority) for our wine license for the shop. We have worked double and triple overtime doing demographic research for the area around the space to present to the judges. Some of the work is done yet there is a laundry list of other stuff to take care of. When embarking on such business ventures there is a ton of stuff to do before the regular day-to-day of running a restaurant: Making sure everything will run smoothly when the profit transfers to you. Making sure you are treating your staff well so that they stick around through the change. Taking on responsibilities you once observed from afar. We are buying our cooks their own uniforms and giving them a raise. We are making our one back waiter (some people think to call Izzy our busboy but that would only be scratching the surface of what he does and is capable of doing) a kitchen manager along side me. We will be a force to be reckoned with. Our other partner Angus will take on the front of the house and all that post entails and our third partner David (Deezy or, as I like to call him, Numbers) will be taking care of …well…the “numbers,” if you will. We all love wine immensely and I’m not just talking about the waiters. I mean the entire staff from Izzy to the wait staff and our kick-ass hostess Helena (with a silent “H”) to the guys in the kitchen.
I am not looking for fame and fortune here. All I want is to create something that builds relationships in wine. We want to be able to have a regular customer base at the wine shop and nurture these relationships by gaining peoples trust when it comes to buying wine for a romantic dinner or a night out at a dinner party in SOHO. I want to see people come in before New Year’s and comfortably put themselves in our hands about what to celebrate with. I want to continue the happy vibe at In Vino and make it even more educational and interactive as ever by doing wine tastings with Italian themes and eventually bringing wines from the shop (which will be international by the way) for compare and contrasts.
So please know that this blog is very important to me and I will continue the search for awesome wine for under twenty bucks and write the stories that come along with them. If I happen falter a bit and the same post has been up for a week or so please know that I am just getting some work in order. When we finally close the deal for In Vino and get that license for the shop this blog will be linked to both of our websites and I will be posting on more of a regular basis. Thank you for sticking this out with me. I have a couple wines I want to write about and I am researching the details as we speak. Thank you also for coming back and reading the craziness that is in my wine geek brain. Talk to y’all soon. Cheers.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Patrick on September 17, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    congratulations all around. the sky is the limit.
    but really, how could you run down the staff without even a mention of everyone’s favorite pinch hitter/blowhard/wine mooch?

    Reply

  2. Posted by GollyGumDrops on September 20, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Good luck! 3,000 miles isa bit far just to drop by, but next time I’m in the neighbourhood I’ll make the trip.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Pamela on September 26, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    I am in the EV too and I look foward to visiting your shop in the near future! Best of luck.

    Reply

  4. Posted by EVWG on October 3, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    Thanks for the the support:) Let us hope that that the SLA are nice to us and let us do something good for the hood. If you are ever in NYC gollygumdrops stop on by IN VINO and have a glass on me.

    EvWg

    Reply

  5. Posted by marisa d'vari on October 17, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    Congrats! I’m so excited for you. You should make some cards or postcards with your blog address on it and encourage people to spread the word when you open!
    Marisa D’Vari, http:AWineStory.com

    Reply

  6. Posted by marisa d'vari on October 17, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    Congrats! I’m so excited for you. You should make some cards or postcards with your blog address on it and encourage people to spread the word when you open!
    Marisa D’Vari, http:AWineStory.com

    Reply

  7. Posted by marisa d'vari on October 17, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    Congrats! I’m so excited for you. You should make some cards or postcards with your blog address on it and encourage people to spread the word when you open!
    Marisa D’Vari, http:AWineStory.com

    Reply

  8. Posted by Sarah Loyer on October 23, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    Congrats! I am an occasional visitor of your restaurant – it is one of my favorites in the neighborhood! Good luck, I’m sure you guys will do great!

    Reply

  9. Posted by EVWG on October 23, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    Thank you so much for the supportive comments! I may have to take a bit of a break from this journey but i will be back. I did not realize the enormity of theses projects. When the shop is opened (which should be good to go a couple days before Thanksgiving) I will be blogging alot more because of the plethora of wines our geekish-ness will put on the shelf. If anyone is in the new york area and want to get down with some serious wine talking come on in to one of the places and let’s get geeky. Thanks again! Cheers.

    EvWg

    Reply

  10. Posted by Italian Wine Blog - Wine90 on November 7, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    Wow that is great. Its wonderful when your job and your hobbies meet. Good Luck for the future.

    Sarah
    Wine90

    Italian Wine Blog

    Reply

  11. Posted by roscoe on December 12, 2007 at 3:22 am

    We love In Vino. Any word on the shop?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

