Five Days In Languedoc- Roussillon: Clos Des Augustins

The Sud de France, an organization that promotes the wine, food and culture of southern France, specifically Languedoc-Roussillon, caught wind of my obbession with the area and began watching my video series on the many regions from west to east.

They asked if I would take my video camera to France and capture the magic first hand. I said….YES! YES!YES!

They sent me and my business partner, David, to Montpelier where we were met by the wonderful Sonia Augry and Laurent, our driver. Little did I know what we were in for.

Over the next five days I experienced something truly special. We travelled from the most eastern border of the this immense appellation to Pyrenees bordering on Spain.

I didn’t think my love for wines of this area could get any stronger and I was wrong. After meeting the amazing people behind these wines I fell in love all over again.

Our first stop was in Pic Saint Loup just north of Montpelier where we were honored to catch a glimpse behind the scenes at Clos Des Augustins where Frederic Mezy carries on the wine making tradition of his Father and grandfather.

They practice sustainable agriculture, specifically biodynamic, and it shines through in the wines.

I’l be posting one video a week for the next ten weeks from this trip ending right in time for the New York City Sud De France Fastival in June.

So get ready for some fun wine geeky stuff!

Please enjoy this seven minute tribute to Clos Des Augustins

Leave a Reply

